WOW!!!

Just a reminder that this Monday is 2nd Monday of the month and we will be at Fed Square from midday for a little poppy making.  As it’s a public holiday I am hoping to see a big group …. its a wonderful relax for a couple of hours of creativity.  Look forward to seeing you there.  Also a reminder to put in your diaries for next month … Monday 14th from midday again but also ANZAC DAY 25TH (which is a Friday) from 11 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. in Fed Square … hope to see a massive turnup for this one.

By the way … have I mentioned how amazing you all are … from my call to arms last week to reach a milestone of 8,000 before the end of February … in the past couple of days …  we have pushed our total to 9006 … that’s over 800 this week and I still have some new ones that I haven’t even had time to count … I feel we are a shoe in to reach our next milestone of 10,000 by the end of March … and then maybe … just maybe …. we could be HALF WAY TO 25,000 by end of June.  I am thinking big here, I know, but at the rate we are growing it’s not beyond the realms of possibility.

Thank you Samantha Doorbar for the thermometer.

image  You are such an inspiring group …

This entry was posted in 5000 Poppies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WOW!!!

  1. Jeannie Taylor says:

    I’ve just been listening to Radio National with Fran Kelly interviewing Tony Robinson who’s here to do a TV series on World War 1 as seen through Australian eyes. He was asking for people to contact him with their family histories or mementoes as background to the show. I wondered if it would be appropriate to contact him (via ABC) about the 5000 poppies project as an interesting grass-roots way of commemorating the 100th anniversary of WW1?

    Jeannie Taylor,
    Doreen, Vic

  2. Katherine says:

    Wow indeed! And I am sure there are lots of people like me who have half-filled shoeboxes or similar, and will send on their poppies when they have “just done a few more”! I put a call out to my friends for black buttons, and I got so many that I will be poppy-ing away for a while yet.

  3. Sophie88 says:

    Nice!

  4. Lyn Bennett says:

    Lynn do you need a collection point in the Seymour area. I have two spare (craft rooms) bedrooms
    and travel to Melbourne several days a week babysitting, or op shop searching for things for craft to use with clients at work, Lyn

    • 5000poppies says:

      Hi Lyn,
      We would love a collection point at Seymour.
      Would you plan on running some workshops or would you like me to come up and talk to a group?
      Lynn

Leave a Reply

